Soapbox Sunday: For Colored Moms

cover of the 1980 Bantam edition

Image via Wikipedia

Image: graur codrin / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Soapbox Sunday post. What can I say? I kind of got burned out on daily blog and article reading and let the unread posts on my feed reader pile up. I’ve finally gotten through them all (with some unfortunate skimming and deleting), so I’m back.

As you may have guessed, the title of this post is a call out to the recently released movie, For Colored Girls. I haven’t seen it yet, but I have a lot of love for the original choreopoem For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow is Enuf by Ntozake Shange. However, when it comes to Tyler Perry films my default level of excitement is permanently set to “Meh.”  I currently view his attempt to bring Shange’s work to the big screen with a cautious side-eye. Nevertheless, I do plan to see the film and I’m somewhat comforted by the fact that while the reviews are mixed, even some diehard Tyler Perry haters have given it their seal of approval.

So, thanks to Tyler Perry, colored girls are all the buzz this week. At the same time, thanks to Erica Jong, motherhood is all the buzz this week too (Great response here, by the way). So, I figured why not combine the two and post links all about and or by moms of color.  Despite what the predominant narratives might insist, moms of color are more than just disadvantaged, downtrodden, overly harsh, freeloading, anchor-baby-dropping procreators.

Renee at Womanist Musings shares this story of mothers mobilizing to save a school building.

Black Girl in Maine talks about Raising Black and Brown Babies.

Over at My Brown Baby, Denene discusses the stereotyping of parents of color on the playground. Denene’s regular guest blogger, Bassey Ikpi talks about her experience with depression during pregnancy and her recent knee-jerk reaction to her son requesting a white Barbie.

Finally, Jen at Baby Making Machine learns that just because it says “flush” on the diaper insert package doesn’t mean you should.

So, have you read For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow is Enuf or seen the movie, For Colored Girls? If so, what did you think?

Also, what good posts or articles have you come across recently?

Posted on November 14, 2010, in I'm a brown mama, My soapbox, Soapbox Sunday. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I loved your links! Glad you came back this week. :) Every week, I wonder whether to hurry up and read some stuff to link or not…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

