Baby Registry Blues

I’ve got the baby registry blues…waaaaahhhhhhhh!

Putting it together is harder than I thought it would be.

Let me provide some perspective on this – my husband refers to me as a hippy. What he means to say is that I’m more on the natural end of the spectrum when it comes to pregnancy, childbirth, and child-rearing. Often this means that my point-of-view is usually labelled as “alternative” or maybe even “crunchy.” In addition, I am prone to choosing practicality over style. What this means is that I decided to be as simple as possible when it came to accumulating baby gear. I can justify this by saying I want to raise a green baby (I do!) but mostly it’s because we live in a small space and cannot utter the words “I’m rich, biatch!” with any sincerity.

So what’s so hard about making a baby registry:

– Balancing my minimalist ways with everyone’s urge to buy things
– Deciding what is absolutely essential for a baby to have
– Balancing my “hippy” baby ideas with everyone else’s mainstream ideas
– Figuring out this car seat business
– Figuring out what the heck a receiving blanket is…really
– Realizing that I really won’t know what I really need until the baby makes his/her grand entrance

The result is that I now have about ten items on the list that I think I can live with. If you know me and the hubby in real life and want to spend some dough, look us up on Amazon.com.

Posted on May 17, 2009, in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. if it helps at all, we use old-fashioned cloth diapers (the square variety you would have to fold yourself) as receiving blankets and/or burp cloths.

  2. hello sister…since ive had this recent problen myself i can help! 🙂 soooo….
    1. i have a car seat for u!
    2. a receiving is a blanket that they usually swaddle tha baby. cuz they like the warmth and security of the womb
    3. when you come in town i can help with tha rest of the nessities you may need for your “hippy” ways!
    but love the mess out of you and ‘care bear!’ lol

  3. My preferences sound very similar to yours.I found the neatest car seat when I signed up for JC Penney baby registry. Doing the registry really helped. People got most all of my gifts from there. Why would they want to guess at what to get when they have a list of things they know I want.

Leave a Reply

