Eating for who?

During my pregnancy I was a ridiculously healthy eater.  I was a healthy eater prior to pregnancy but I amped it up once I was pregnant. Now, I did have treats and I did occasionally eat stuff that wasn’t that healthy but everyday I made sure I ate fruit, drank water, had protein and my prenatal vitamins. I even made soymilk smoothies with wheat germ…wheat germ, people.

Then I had the baby.

My good eating habits went out the first window I passed. Slam dunk style. The first thing to go was the fact that I was eating regularly. I barely felt like I was getting to sleep or do any type of self-care. Even showers were a luxury. When it’s just you and a newborn and no one else is around to help for hours at a time it’s easy to fall into a pattern of self-neglect. You, the mama, are probably more sore than you’ve ever been before and newborns…well, newborns are needy. As a result, when I did eat, it was whatever was convenient which usually isn’t the most nutritionally sound food available. So began my descent into Micky D’s hell.

Five weeks later I’m finally starting to claw my way out. I’m making sure to drink more water and I’m trying to have fruit daily. I made dinner the other night for the first time in ages and it actually felt good to do it. C, my non-cooking, fast food enabler, was particularly grateful for a home-cooked meal. I’m not all the way back on the wagon but I’m slowly getting there. I remind myself that a malnourished mama means a malnourished baby. I even asked my enabler if he’d be willing to cook dinner sometimes. He surprised me by saying yes but apparently the recipes will be coming from Men’s Health magazine. I’m just glad that boxes with the words “Helper” or “a-roni” won’t be part of the equation.

Posted on August 26, 2009, in New mommyhood, Post-partum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. thats so true! cuz i did tha same thing!

  2. Wow, another new breastfeeding mom. My daughter was born june 15. looks like I found my twin. Im glad you answer your baby every time he cries. He needs that.

  3. oh, and youre into healthy eating. yea, your definitely my twin.

Leave a Reply

