Hanging with Mr. Pooper

I ingested cheese and  I paid for it. I signed up for a poop marathon. Yes, I know I resolved to use fewer disposables but there must be an exception for poop marathons. It started Friday when I had two salads which were sprinkled with cheese. I thought this might be the perfect opportunity to see if Baby E could handle milk proteins better now that he’s six months old. What with his gut supposedly being more mature and all. What resulted was a nurse-poop cycle that  finally ended the following day. It started with a poopslosion that let me know he was ready for stage three diapers. Seriously, the poop made its way up his back and then to onto his arms. It was bath-worthy. Then, we had the big poop at 3 am. I don’t mind waking to nurse but diaper changes mean I have to get out of bed. The rest of the poops were really just tiny splats but I felt like I was changing diapers every 30 minutes. Rounding out the poop marathon was the lack of any meaningful napping by either of us. Luckily, the scene outside looked like this so we stayed indoors and chilled on the couch.

I realize that this isn’t much when it comes to snow but in this area this counts as seriously bad weather. I mean schools close over flurries here. But really, the roads were iced over and we didn’t need to go anywhere that badly.

Posted on January 31, 2010, in Baby poop, Breastfeeding. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I hate those poop explosions. We had snow here last weekend, and it finally melted a few days ago.

  2. A friend recommended putting a diaper cover (like a Thirsties) over the disposable to help contain the blow-outs!

    • Now that’s something I hadn’t considered before. I will say though that now that we’ve transitioned into a larger sized disposable the blow-outs have been contained. I’m still trying to keep disposables as the minority in our diaper stash.

Leave a Reply

