Today is a special day…

…A special day for the blog, Navelgazing, and for me, the NavelgazingBajan. It’s our birthday!!!

Image: Michelle Meiklejohn / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Exactly one year ago, I decided to break the news of my pregnancy via blog. I was 17 weeks, 5 days along and just barely starting to show. I thought a blog would be a great way to keep my friends and family up to date with the pregnancy and have the blog serve as a journal of my pregnancy/parenting related musings. Of course, once I stopped being stubborn and became a Facebook-bot like the rest of the modern world, my family and friends no longer needed to stop by here much. That is okay though because my little blog has provided me with the opportunity to interact with and learn from other great blogging ladies/mommies.

Annnnnnnd…… THIRTY years ago, my own mum had celebrated her first birth-day by giving birth to ME! I had a drug-free, forceps entry into the world after about 5 (yes, FIVE!!!!) hours of labor. My mummy rocks!

You know who else rocks? My daddy because it’s his birthday too!

In celebration of this special day I will drink some sparkling grape juice and eat some cake later. I will reflect on the significance/insignificance of having attained thirty years on Earth. I will try to get over the fact that I did not take the day off and therefore will spend my birthday at work. Moreover, I will try not to hurt my husband if he follows through on his threat of getting me a giftcard to Walmart if I don’t come up with a better idea.

Happy Birthday to me!!!

Posted on February 22, 2010, in Birth, Random bits from my life. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Happy Birthday Earth Child!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Happy Belated Birthday! I hope you had a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

