Any Requests?

I’m suffering from a bit of blogger’s block. It’s not that I can’t write or don’t want to write. It’s more that I don’t always have faith that what I’m thinking of writing will be interesting enough to you, my deep, deep readers. By the way, shallow readers are welcome too.

I have started quite a few posts which remain unfinished because a) I’ve lost my initial zest for the subject, and b) Baby E loves to play “bouncy, bouncy baby” on my lap right when I’m trying to concentrate. I don’t know about you, but I still haven’t developed a resistance to all of that cuteness.

In between excelling at unfinished posts and cute baby-ness, I’m maintaining another blog, Black Women Do Breastfeed, beginning life as a work-at-home mother, staying involved in local HIV prevention projects (on an unpaid basis) and realizing that I really, really like staying at home.

So readers here is your chance — tell me what you want me to write about. How can my writings entertain you? Don’t feel limited to parenting issues but don’t make me have to write a research paper . I promise to honor your requests. To prove it, I shall now recite the Brownie Guide promise (Barbados/British version):

(ahem)

Good ole Brownie Guide salute

I promise that I will do my best

To do my duty to God,

To serve the Queen, and my country,

And to help other people,

And to keep the Brownie Guide Law.

There…I even mentioned serving the Queen (the Queen!!). How much more serious could I be?

Image: Michelle Meiklejohn / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Posted on April 14, 2010, in Random bits from my life. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ha I like reading about day-to-day happenings in your life and the causes you are interested in. No pressure, I’ve been writing about Mongolia in my journal that I carry around but will add them all to my blog in the next 2 months. So that’s doing my part.
    Even the simplest posts are fun to read on here.

  2. I agree. I enjoy reading about day-to-day happenings too! I am curious about employers honoring the new legislation about women having mandated breaks to express milk at work.

  3. Hey fellow brownie girl:-) Write whatever you want to that interests you. It’s your space. You have a great voice.

Leave a Reply

