Going to Bad Mommy Land in a Car Seat

I’m heading off to Bad Mommy Land – the place where mommies go to relive their bad mommy moments over and over again. We tend to stay there until someone tells us it’s okay to come back into the Land of the Good Mommies.

How did I get banished? I went to a green living street fair yesterday with Cream of Mommy Soup and her gang. We caravanned in their vehicle s0 I had to transfer Baby E’s carseat from my car. Upon re-transferring the seat base to my car, Cream of Mommy, the Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician, noticed that my carseat base was not installed properly.

Say what??

It turns out that what I thought was a LATCH system in the center of my backseat was not a LATCH system for that part of the backseat. I only had lower anchors for the seating areas to the left and the right of the center.

*Head smack*

In my defense, I thought I’d installed the base correctly. I thought I was doing a bang-up job. Turns out that only my good-ish driving skillzz and luck kept me from having a real bang-up.

Now I’m off to re-read Codename:Mama’s 5 Ways to Deal with Mama Guilt and to read up on correct LATCH technique.

Posted on April 18, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I, too, am a bad mama – I have never learned how to properly install my car seat, choosing to leave that to the hubby. It would be a useful skill to have, though.

  2. Bad Mommy Land, haha that’s funny. But you are no bad mommy. Unless you let your baby ride on top of the car, you’re still on the good side to me!

Leave a Reply

