You can take the girl out of the island but…


I miss…

… the salty-sweet smell of the sea after a morning rain.

… the not-so-far away rhythm of the tide breaking upon pale champagne sand.

… pinkish-purple bougainvilleas and pinkish-red hibiscuses framing the beach.

… chocolate Tea Time biscuits, tamarind balls, and sugar cakes.

… curried, spicy Chefette rotis.

fish cakes and bakes (Every Bajan does make).

… reggae beats pounding through the windows of overcrowded minibuses and ZR vans.

… blue and yellow Transport Board buses careening around corners curtained by sugar-cane.

… the scent of perfectly crisped, fried fish drawing me towards Baxters Road.

golden apple juice running down my elbow as I suck around the spiny seed.

Soca! Soca! Soca!

… family.

… home.

Posted on April 25, 2010, in Random bits from my life. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you for the shout-out, navelgazer. I too have got that island feeling………missing it so so much! Reason to go back I figure!

  2. I miss my island home too. I’d pay BIG money for a roti right now!

  3. How beautiful. I was watching the video with hubby. We would love to visit there some time.
    I keep telling him we need to pack up and move 🙂

  4. Arrived here via Kitchen Butterfly’s blog. I am enjoying my visit. You are a talented writer. I very much enjoyed your sleep is for suckers post. Brilliant. Keep writing

Leave a Reply

