Catchphrase Me if You Can

If you’ve ever paid attention to the world of television pop culture you’ve probably noticed a little thing known as a catchphrase. A catchphrase makes television shows and characters memorable in a time when our collective attention spans add up to nil. As reality shows burgeoned, particularly the ones that are dramas disguised as competitions, the catchphrase seems to have flourished. What would Project Runway be like without host, Heidi Klum, uttering “You’re out!” to ousted fashion designers? And who could forget, ” You are the weakest link! Goodbye!”

But if you’ve ever wished to coin a new catchphrase, you don’t need to go on television to do so. You only need two ingredients – a child and exasperation.

The parental catchphrase is not new. It pre-dates the reality show boom by several years, perhaps having been born the moment our prehistoric ancestors acquired language skills. Indeed, some of us may remember hearing certain nuggets throughout our childhood.

You have until the count of three!

Because I said so!

In some cases, these parental catchphrases follow us into adulthood. The hubby, C, is known to playfully rile his mother up just so she’ll sigh her famous, “Ugh, C!”

Really, Baby E? Really?

Lately, I’ve discovered my own catchphrase. As I deal with my son’s burgeoning independence and interest in all things contraband and off-limits, I find myself repeating, “Really, Baby E? Really?”

A few examples:

Baby E insists on investigating the electrical cords under my computer desk despite my attempts to block him…

Really, Baby E? Really?

I put Baby E in his exersaucer so I can take a restroom break and he uses it as an opportunity to have a mini-meltdown…

Really, Baby E? Really?

Baby E bites me and then laughs when I yell, “Owwww!”…

Really, Baby E? Really?

It’s a catchphrase for just about any situation! I predict that I’ll be using it for years to come. In fact, I promise to not be surprised when Baby E turns it back on me with a “Really, Mama, Really?”

What’s your parental catchphrase?

Posted on August 8, 2010, in General mommyness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. mine is “come from under there Marlie!” She likes to go under everything…my computer desk, the table, the bed…you get the picture

Leave a Reply

