Dear Toddler: I forgive you

Dear Toddler,

I forgive you for:

  • Pulling a box of freshly delivered pizza to the floor before anyone could get a slice 
  • Peeing on the carpet and then laughing about it
  • Pooping on the bed
  • Biting my nipple
  • Pulling my hair
  • Laughing when I shriek “Ouch!”
  • Practicing your ability to echo your voice at 2 AM
  • Headbutting me in the mouth
  • Throwing my jewelry down the stairs
  • Writing on the wall
  • Sneezing on my face
  • Unplugging the cable box in the middle of a good show
  • Taking an anti-nap stance

I forgive you because I love you.

I forgive you because you’re only 17 and half months old and you act like it.

I forgive you because I’m not perfect and I probably need to be forgiven for a few things (needs a whole other post).

I forgive you because we’re in a symbiotic relationship.

I forgive you.

Love,

Mama

Posted on January 9, 2011, in General mommyness, Life with a toddler and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh groan! I could have written half that list in the last
    week with a 15 month old. I feel your pain. Hang in there
    Mama!

  2. I co-sign this letter because baby girl has done all of these things and then some, but her mama loves her and needs to be more patient

  3. hahahaha! he sounds like hes been hanging with baby Z. good youre understanding and dont call him “bad.” i hate that.

  4. Boy can I relate to this post! 🙂 So sweet and so true. I
    have to admit sometimes I ascribe feelings/intentions to my
    daughter when she does these things that I know she doesn’t have or
    mean. Good thing my husband is around to tell me she’s just a baby
    and she wasn’t being malicious. Ha! Then I realize how silly that
    really is to think that she would be.

  5. Hi!

    I would like to talk to you about an article I wrote that, being a parent, I think you would enjoy (on early childhood education). I’d love it if you could drop me an email quick so I can give you more details if you’re interested or if you were interested in new content for your blog.

  6. this sounds all too familiar to me. you forgot to say I forgive you cause you are just too gosh darn it cute:-)

Leave a Reply

