Annnnnd I’m back…sort of

Has it really been so long since I’ve written a blog post? I’ve been back in the paid workforce for about a month now and it’s put a crimp in my internet activities. There are so many blog posts I’ve written in my head, and even drafted by hand on a notepad. Yet, I can’t seem to transfer those thoughts to the actual blog. So here, in list form are some of the things I ought to blog about and probably will in the near future:

  • Finding daycare when your parenting style isn’t quite mainstream
  • Pumping again when you haven’t done it regularly in a year
  • Yes, it’s okay to nurse your toddler…really
  • How I realized that my workplace is institutionally sexist (and cis-sexist) despite their commitment to “diversity”
  • Toddlers, solids, development and mother blame
  • Finding time for me
  • My baby’s turning two!!!
  • Passing on my cultural heritage to my child
  • The zombie apocalypse
I can’t promise that I’ll write about all of these. I can’t even promise that what I write will be any good. But I gotta write, dagnabbit! And so I will.
Posted on June 4, 2011, in Random bits from my life, Working mom. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I always look forward to your entries, and this list of topics is fabulous!

    This week I am observing heavy-duty cissexism in a scenario that is life-threatening. It is intense! Last night I was also thinking (while I walked in our Relay for Life and watched the attendant drag show) that if our culture and society becomes more accepting of trans men and trans women and intersex issues, etc. etc., we all stand to gain – so much.

    On another topic, I nursed both my kids well into toddlerhood (ages 2 and 3). It was one of the most rewarding and awesome experiences of my life. I was fortunate to have a relatively supportive environment before embarking on this… so by the time I was in the position of nursing toddlers (including a year of tandem nursing) I wasn’t bothered by the ignorance of those less supportive (MOST negative responses are well-drenched in ignorance). I really look forward to what you write.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

