Mahogany Monday: Hair today, hair tomorrow?

Baby E used to sport an afro most of the time but lately we’ve taken to braiding it up. Both C and myself wear our hair in locs but we haven’t taken that step with Baby E. C is in favor of going ahead and locking it or just cutting his hair. I’m more sentimental about keeping his baby curls for as long as possible (*sniff). A few months ago I was more on the side of giving him his first haircut but that was mostly because Baby E would not sit still long enough to let me braid his hair. However, haircuts are currently on the back-burner again because Baby E will sit still for his babysitter while she braids his hair. I can barely imagine what he would look like with short hair.

Check out more Mahogany Monday posts here.

Posted on June 6, 2011, in I'm a brown mama, Life with a toddler, Mahogany Mondays, Raising a boy. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love it! I am from the school that believes in not cutting a baby’s hair. Maybe it’s just a Caribbean thing.

  2. Love his braids. I’m getting ready to do the girls hair today. Charles wants to cut Samuel’s hair but I say wait a few years.

  3. They look nice! And he has lots of hair! Jasmine now sits still while I braid hers, or she falls asleep! Lol

  4. I love braids on baby boys!! 🙂 We’ve only cut Z1’s hair once and we’ve never cut Z2’s hair. Cutting Z1’s hair was really hard on me! Anyway, the braids look so nice and now that he’s sitting still for them, keep it going!

  5. The first haircut is the hardest. I cried when it was finally done:-(

Leave a Reply

